Resolution Urging Illinois State Leaders to Release Non-General Fund Revenues Payable to Local Governments

WHEREAS, the State of Illinois has been operating without a Fiscal Year 2016 state budget since July 1, 2015; and

WHEREAS, the absence of a budget has resulted in the state withholding over \$150 million in revenue owed to municipal governments for lack of appropriation authority; and

WHEREAS, the City of Peoria relies on the local share of Motor Fuel Tax Funds to provide critical local services, such as road construction, maintenance, and repair, as approximately 75% of these critical services are funded with the local share of Motor Fuel Tax, and as a result these services will be in jeopardy until state leaders take action to release local Motor Fuel Tax funds to municipalities; and

WHEREAS, many municipalities rely on state distributions of local revenue to fund their 9-1-1 service centers and, without these funds, the effectiveness of emergency services to reach citizens will be in peril; and

WHEREAS, the City of Peoria's local share of the Use Tax is used to help provide basic services, such as police, fire, and other City operating cost which will be negatively impact the City's ability to provide basic City services, such as public safety, without the release of local Use Tax; and

WHEREAS, the City of Peoria share of video gaming fees and casino fees are used to provide infrastructure improvements, equipment and other capital needs and the ability to provide these necessary projects will negatively impacted without the release of the video gaming and casino fees.

NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED BY THE MAYOR AND THE COUNCIL OF CITY OF PEORIA that we call upon the Governor and General Assembly to take action to immediately release all non-general fund revenues owed to local governments. These funds include revenues from the Motor Fuel Tax, Wireless Service Emergency Fund, Use Tax, Local Government Video Gaming Distributive Fund, and casino gaming;

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this resolution be forwarded to the Governor, Comptroller, Senate President, Senate Minority Leader, House Speaker, House Minority Leader, local legislators, and the Illinois Municipal League.